IB Diploma Examinations

Each year two IB Diploma examinations sessions are held, in May and in November; the examinations results are published, respectively, at the beginning of July and of January. An IB Diploma candidate can gain from grade "1" (the lowest) to grade "7" (the highest) in each subject. Additionally, they can gain 3 points maximum for the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge combined. Hence, the highest possible result is 45 points (6 subjects x 7 points + 3 points for the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge).

Theory of Knowledge and the Extended Essay are graded from "E" (the lowest grade) to "A" (the highest grade). The combination of grades for these two Diploma components is subsequently converted into points according to a special Diploma points matrix - see here.

A candidate is entitled to three IB Diploma examinations session maximum.

The IB Diploma will be awarded to a candidate provided all the following requirements have been met:

  1. CAS requirements have been met;
  2. the candidate's total points are 24 or more;
  3. there is no "N" awarded for Theory of Knowledge, the Extended Essay or for a contributing subject („N” is awarded in any of the following situations a) Internal Assessment work has not been submitted, b) the candidate missed an exam paper during the examination session, c) TOK essay and / or TOK presentation has not been submitted, d) the Extended Essay has not been submitted);
  4. there is no grade "E" awarded for Theory of Knowledge and / or the Extended Essay;
  5. there is no grade "1" awarded in a subject / level;
  6. there are no more than two grades "2" awarded (HL or SL);
  7. there are no more than three grades "3" or below awarded (HL or SL);
  8. the candidate has gained 12 points or more on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count);
  9. the candidate has gained 9 points or more on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL);
  10. the candidate has not received a penalty for academic misconduct from the Final Award Committee.




Strona wykorzystuje pliki cookies. Korzystanie z tego serwisu, oznacza zgodę na wykorzystywanie plików cookies Więcej informacji